In Austria, deposit protection and investor compensation are regulated by the Deposit Guarantee Schemes and Investor Compensation Act (Einlagensicherungs- und Anlegerentschädigungsgesetz – ESAEG). These provisions represent the transposition of corresponding EU directives into national law.

Since January 1st 2019, investor compensation for all Austrian credit institutions is performed by Einlagensicherung AUSTRIA Ges.m.b.H (DGS AUSTRIA). Exceptions are the members of the institutional protection system of ERSTE Bank and savings banks. Those banks are protected by S-Haftungs GmbH.

Every Austrian credit institution that wishes to provide investment services subject to compulsory coverage must belong to one of these two protection schemes, otherwise its licence to provide investment services subject to compulsory coverage will expire. The licenses of all Austrian credit institutions can be checked on the website of the Financial Market Authority (FMA). The ownership structure of a credit institution is irrelevant for investor compensation; the existence of an Austrian license is essential.

Legally dependent branches of banks that provide investment services in Austria under the freedom of establishment and the freedom to provide services and which therefore do not have an Austrian banking license are subject to deposit protection in the country in which the bank is domiciled. Therefore, any claims must always be asserted in accordance with the legal provisions of the country of domicile.

Frequently asked questions on deposit insurance

 

Which deposits are covered by the deposit guarantee scheme?

In principle, all deposits on all interest-bearing or non-interest-bearing accounts or passbooks, such as salary and pension accounts, other current accounts, fixed-term deposits, capital savings accounts or savings books payable on demand, are eligible.


Are only deposits of Austrian citizens covered?

No, the nationality of the depositor is irrelevant. Therefore, deposits of customers who are not Austrian citizens are also covered.


Are credit balances in a joint account covered?

A joint account is not held by one customer, but by several customers. The fundamental principle that deposits up to EUR 100,000 per credit institution and per person are covered, regardless of the number of accounts or passbooks, is still applicable. Therefore, provided that all account holders are authorized, the maximum payout amount of EUR 100,000 (multiple payout) applies to each account holder. The credit balance on the joint account shall be distributed equally among the account holders.

For example, if there is a deposit of EUR 200,000 in a joint account with two account holders, the two account holders can each claim an amount of EUR 100,000 in the case of deposit protection.
However, the account holders may, prior to the payout event, submit to the bank a written agreement on the division of the deposits in the joint account in the event of a payout, and thus depart from the principle of division in equal parts. This distribution key is then to be used exclusively in the payout event and has no effect on the disposition authorizations agreed with the bank outside the payout event.

The same applies analogous to joint savings books. In this case, it must also be concerned that savings books must be presented before the secured amount is paid out and any agreed password must be stated.


What are temporary high balances?

In certain cases, you can apply to the protection scheme within 12 months of the payout event to have your deposits refunded beyond the general maximum amount of EUR 100,000 up to a total of EUR 500,000.

To do so, you must prove to the protection scheme that your deposit either

  • originates from real estate transactions in connection with privately used residential property, or
  • fulfils social purposes provided for by law and is linked to certain life events of yours, such as marriage, divorce, retirement, termination, dismissal, disability or death, or
  • is based on the payment of insurance benefits or compensation for bodily injury resulting from criminal offences or a false criminal conviction.

In all these cases, the payout event must occur within twelve months of the amount being credited or of the date on which the deposit can be transferred in a legally permissible manner.


When do I receive my money in the event of a payout event?

My covered deposits amount to a maximum of EUR 100,000

The protection scheme generally pays out the covered deposits within the statutory period of 7 working days. An application on your part is not necessary. However, the Protection Scheme must be notified of the account to which payment is to be made.

This deadline may be exceeded, for example, if

  • your claim for compensation is in dispute;
  • the deposit is subject of litigation;
  • it is a deposit made in connection with a fiduciary transaction.

For details of these exceptions, please refer to article 14 (2) Deposit Guarantee Schemes and Investor Compensation Act.

My covered deposits amount to more than EUR 100,000

If your deposit is a temporary high balance within the meaning of article 12 Deposit Guarantee Schemes and Investor Compensation Act (see above "What are temporary high balances?"), you must

  • submit an application for compensation to the Protection Scheme within 12 months of the occurrence of the payout event;
  • prove to the Protection Scheme that all requirements of article 12 Deposit Guarantee Schemes and Investor Compensation Act are met.

Payment will be made after your claim has been reviewed by the Protection Scheme. In a payout event, a corresponding form will be available on the website of the Protection scheme.


CAN MY BANK EXIT THE PROTECTION SCHEME OR CHANGE IT?

A credit institution may only exit it's protection scheme if it joins another protection scheme at the same time.

If a credit institution withdraws from the Protection Scheme without joining another Protection Scheme, its license to accept new deposits expires. Existing deposits remain covered by the Protection Scheme that was previously responsible.

Member institutions

Find out if deposits at your bank are guaranteed by us.

Next

Die Einlagensicherung und die Anlegerentschädigung sind in Österreich im Bundesgesetz über die Einlagensicherung und Anlegerentschädigung bei Kreditinstituten (Einlagensicherungs- und Anlegerentschädigungsgesetz - ESAEG) geregelt. Bei diesen Bestimmungen handelt es sich um die Umsetzung von entsprechenden Richtlinien der EU in innerstaatliches Recht.

Seit 1.1.2019 wird die Einlagensicherungsfunktion für alle österreichischen Kreditinstitute durch die Einlagensicherung AUSTRIA Ges.m.b.H. wahrgenommen. Ausgenommen davon sind jene Banken, welche dem institutsbezogenen Sicherungssystem von Erste Bank und Sparkassen angehören und deshalb durch die S-Haftungs GmbH gesichert sind.

Jedes Kreditinstitut mit Sitz in Österreich, das Kundeneinlagen entgegennimmt, muss einer dieser beiden Sicherungseinrichtungen angehören, andernfalls erlischt seine Konzession zur Entgegennahme von Einlagen. Ob und welche Konzession ein Kreditinstitut in Österreich hat, lässt sich auf der Webseite der Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA)einsehen. Die Eigentümerstruktur eines Kreditinstituts ist für die Einlagensicherung unerheblich; wesentlich ist das Vorliegen einer österreichischen Konzession.

Rechtlich unselbständige Filialen ausländischer Kreditinstitute, die im Rahmen der Niederlassungs- und Dienstleistungsfreiheit in Österreich Einlagen entgegennehmen und daher keine österreichische Bankkonzession haben, unterliegen der Einlagensicherung im Sitzstaat des Kreditinstitutes. Daher sind allfällige Ansprüche grundsätzlich nach den Rechtsvorschriften des Sitzstaates geltend zu machen.

Häufig gestellte Fragen zur Einlagensicherung

 

Welche Einlagen sind von der Einlagensicherung erfasst?

Grundsätzlich sind sämtliche Guthaben auf allen verzinsten oder unverzinsten Konten oder Sparbüchern, wie z.B. Gehalts- und Pensionskonten, sonstige Girokonten, Festgelder, Kapitalsparbücher oder täglich fällige Sparbücher, erstattungsfähig.


Sind nur Guthaben österreichischer Staatsbürger gesichert?

Nein, die Staatsbürgerschaft des Kunden spielt keine Rolle. Es sind somit auch Guthaben von Kunden, die nicht österreichische Staatsbürger sind, gesichert.


Sind Guthaben auf einem Gemeinschaftskonto gesichert?

Ein Gemeinschaftskonto lautet nicht auf einen, sondern auf mehrere Kunden. Der Grundsatz, dass pro Kreditinstitut und pro Person bis zu EUR 100.000,-- gesichert sind, unabhängig von der Anzahl der Konten bzw. Sparbücher, gilt auch hier. Sofern daher alle Kontoinhaber legitimiert sind, gilt für jeden Kontoinhaber der Auszahlungshöchstbetrag von EUR 100.000,-- (Mehrfachauszahlung). Das Guthaben auf dem Gemeinschaftskonto ist zu gleichen Teilen auf die Kontoinhaber zu verteilen.

Wenn also z.B. auf einem Gemeinschaftskonto mit zwei Kontoinhabern ein Guthaben von EUR 200.000,-- besteht, können die beiden Kontoinhaber im Einlagensicherungsfall je einen Betrag von EUR 100.000,-- beanspruchen.
Die Kontoinhaber können allerdings vor Eintritt des Sicherungsfalls dem Kreditinstitut eine schriftliche Regelung über die Aufteilung der Einlagen auf dem Gemeinschaftskonto im Sicherungsfall übermitteln, und damit vom Grundsatz der Aufteilung zu gleichen Teilen abgehen. Dieser Aufteilungsschlüssel ist dann ausschließlich im Sicherungsfall heranzuziehen und hat keine Auswirkungen auf die außerhalb des Sicherungsfalles mit der Bank vereinbarten Dispositionsberechtigungen.

Das Gleiche gilt sinngemäß für Gemeinschaftssparbücher. Hier ist zusätzlich zu berücksichtigen, dass Sparbücher vor Auszahlung des gesicherten Betrags jedenfalls vorgelegt werden müssen und ein allenfalls dazu vereinbartes Losungswort genannt werden muss.


Was sind zeitlich begrenzt gedeckte Einlagen?

In bestimmten Fällen können Sie bei der Sicherungseinrichtung innerhalb von 12 Monaten nach Eintritt des Sicherungsfalls den Antrag stellen, dass Ihr Guthaben über den generellen Höchstbetrag von EUR 100.000,-- hinaus bis insgesamt EUR 500.000,-- zu erstatten ist.

Dazu müssen Sie der Sicherungseinrichtung nachweisen, dass Ihre Einlage entweder

  • aus Immobilientransaktionen im Zusammenhang mit privat genutzten Wohnimmobilien stammt, oder
  • gesetzlich vorgesehene soziale Zwecke erfüllt und an bestimmte Lebensereignisse von Ihnen anknüpft, wie etwa Heirat, Scheidung, Pensionsantritt, Kündigung, Entlassung, Invalidität oder Tod, oder
  • auf der Auszahlung von Versicherungsleistungen oder Entschädigungszahlungen für aus Straftaten herrührende Körperschäden oder falscher strafrechtlicher Verurteilung beruht.

In allen Fällen muss der Sicherungsfall innerhalb von zwölf Monaten nach Gutschrift des Betrags oder nach dem Zeitpunkt, ab dem diese Einlage auf rechtlich zulässige Weise übertragen werden kann, eintreten.


Wann bekomme ich im Sicherungsfall mein Geld?

Meine gedeckten Einlagen betragen maximal EUR 100.000,--

Die Sicherungseinrichtung zahlt die gedeckten Einlagen grundsätzlich innerhalb der gesetzlichen Frist von 7 Arbeitstagen aus. Ein Antrag Ihrerseits ist nicht erforderlich. Allerdings ist der Sicherungseinrichtung das Konto bekannt zu geben, auf das ausgezahlt werden soll.

Zu einer Überschreitung dieser Frist kann es beispielsweise kommen, wenn

  • Ihr Anspruch auf Erstattung strittig ist;
  • die Einlage Gegenstand einer Rechtsstreitigkeit ist;
  • es sich um eine Einlage im Zusammenhang mit einer Treuhandschaft handelt.

Details zu diesen Ausnahmen entnehmen Sie bitte § 14 Abs. 2 ESAEG.

Meine gedeckten Einlagen betragen mehr als EUR 100.000,--

Falls Ihre Einlage eine zeitlich begrenzt gedeckte Einlage im Sinne des § 12 ESAEG ist (siehe oben "Was sind zeitlich begrenzt gedeckte Einlagen?"), müssen Sie

  • innerhalb von 12 Monaten ab Eintritt des Sicherungsfalls bei der Sicherungseinrichtung einen Antrag auf Erstattung stellen;
  • der Sicherungseinrichtung nachweisen, dass sämtliche Voraussetzungen des § 12 ESAEG erfüllt sind.

Die Auszahlung erfolgt nach Überprüfung Ihres Anspruchs durch die Sicherungseinrichtung. Für die Antragstellung wird im Sicherungsfall auf der Website der Sicherungseinrichtung ein entsprechendes Formular abrufbar sein.


Kann mein Kreditinstitut aus der Sicherungseinrichtung austreten oder diese wechseln?

Ein Austritt eines Kreditinstituts aus der für ihn zuständigen sektoralen Sicherungseinrichtung ist nur dann zulässig, wenn das betreffende Kreditinstitut gleichzeitig einer anderen österreichischen Sicherungseinrichtung beitritt.

Tritt ein Kreditinstitut aus der Sicherungseinrichtung aus ohne einer anderen Sicherungseinrichtung beizutreten, erlischt seine Konzession zur Entgegennahme neuer Einlagen. Bestehende Einlagen beim betroffenen Kreditinstitut bleiben – auch bei Konzessionsentzug durch die Aufsichtsbehörde – weiterhin gesichert.

Unsere Mitgliedsinstitute

Finden Sie heraus, ob Guthaben bei Ihrer Bank durch uns gesichert sind.

Weiter